Moreone’s “Vegetable Soup for Vegetables”

Moreone

The second member of the In The Balance Records team we’ve featured in the Big Rap Cook Book, Moreone dropped off a strictly-veggie soup dish to warm you up for them rainy winter days in England.  After Rye Shabby’s addition to the cookbook, here’s to hoping we get an invite to ITB Records next dinner party…..
What was your most memorable dish as a kid?
Boiled eggs and soldiers. I had some recently that wasn’t up to scratch and reminded me how good my Mum’s eggs and soldiers were.
Actually, my most memorable dish was that one time my Nan ‘accidentally’ served me what I thought was dessert, but, in fact, the pie she had given me – covered in custard and with sugar sprinkled on top – was a chicken pie, not the apple pie I was hoping for.
Do you have any favourite food bars/references in music?
‘I whipped you up different dishes, fed you fruits and veggie sausage’ Starlite by NxWorries.
‘Noone makes a better bagel some’ll come close but the way you make the bacon is the bun toast’ Mrs C by Loyle Carner
‘Eating sardines for dinner’ is up there for sure
(My favourite food lyric of my own is… ‘..the saddest bit of this is that my candlelit dinner is a packet of crisps’)
What’s your favourite pizza topping?
Favourite pizza topping is a difficult one, I’d say mushrooms though.
If you could only eat the cuisine from one country for the rest of your life – what would you choose?
Indian food!
Can you complete these Verb T food bars from his feature on Dike’s posse cut?
“Aye yo man I hold weight and control these fakes
Eatin’ chocolate cake, sippin’…”
A protein shake?

Moreone’s “Vegetable Soup for Vegetables”

(You can pick whatever vegetables you like but the beauty of this recipe is that no matter what you put in, within reason, it works.)

I would recommend..

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons of your preferred oil – rapeseed oil works nicely.
  • 3 medium carrots chopped 
  • 3 medium onions chopped
  • 3 sticks of celery chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic chopped
  • Broccoli and cauliflower chopped 
  • 3 medium potatoes chopped
  • 1 teaspoon of dried chilli flakes
  • Salt-N-Pepa
  • Chicken Stock (I tend to go for 3 Knorr Chicken stock pots melted in a litre and a half of hot water, you can either use a measuring jug or throw them in with the vegetables and pour over the water)

Method:

Heat the oil in a big saucepan and gently fry the carrots, onions, celery, garlic and chilli flakes for 10 mins.
Season with Salt-N-Pepa and then add the potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower and fry for another 10 mins.
Add the chicken stock, bring to the boil and simmer for an hour and a half.
Let it cool down for a bit and then blend.

Enjoy your soups kids.

P.S Suitable for freezing

Leave a Reply

